Single Lady Saturday 

 

   Hi loves! I hope everyone has had a great week; welcome to the weekend! I’m so glad to have a break and relax. Well, today’s topic is- What do you want? This topic came up in a class discussion, with a room full of women and I guy (What are the odds,right?). I pondered on this for a while and it made me question do I seriously know what I want, career and personal wise but how can I answer this question when I have no idea where I’m headed? 

   

   

   Maybe it’s just me, but as a 21 year old woman, I can’t stand the feeling of not having any specific direction in my life but for whatever reason it’s complete acceptable. Literally, every aspect of my life is up in the air and no one says that it’s wrong. Why? I’m young, but three years ago I had to ask to go to the restroom. Seriously, how can they think this transition is possible? For starters, because it is. I know those who are my age can relate in a lot of ways. We’re prepared for our next step in life; we just have to figure out what that next step is. 

   And when it comes to dating, it’s no different. Being this young, most people say to go explore and have fun but when we do it’s an issue. Why? Who really knows- it still confuses me. I think this is the only time where my mom has NOT said anything about anyone I ask her about or that she sees me with. And if you knew how close my mom and I were, this would freak you out too. 

   So, what’s a woman to do when she feels lost? Nothing. 

 

   Well, not exactly nothings rather be still. Every instinct we have is a push or pull in the right direction to self. Meditate and understand where you are in life, as well as, where you want to be. We watched a video in class a few days ago that spoke on how our instinct is the greatest tool we can use in any situation. To think with a instinctual mind is far greater than an spontaneous mind because though it is a “feel” of a situation there is an intellectual side to it. The saying, “everything happens for a reason” is true because that reason, though as painful as it may be, is a turn in our direction in life towards our manifest destiny. We just have to be willing enough and in tune enough to see it. 

   This is where meditation comes in; with everything going on around us, it can seem difficult to take a second to relax without wanting to take a nap. (Trust me, I know how you feel. I love nap time!) The thing is, we cannot give to others that we do not have. That’s why you have to keep yourself in tacked or “full” with whatever you need to stay in line with yourself. This can be broken down to what your spirituality may be- not religion, spirituality. Specially, what you do to keep yourself full. For me, it’s grabbing a book and a cup of tea or yoga every other day. For you, it can be completely different and that’s okay. The point is to take a moment to appreciate where you are in your journey and begin to work on yourself from within. Besides, a Queen without direction is a dangerous thing and not in a good way. And you’re not alone; I have to do it too and will be, so we can do this together! 

 

   Have you ever thought about that, seriously thought about that? In another video I’ve seen recently, studies have proven that for us to be born again with the same parents and circumstances are 1 in 400,000,000,000- now, that’s saying something. Now, do you see how serious is it for you to figure you out? That’s crazy. This means, that whatever direction or path you’re supposed to be on has to be traveled by you. Meditate on yourself and find the balance of yourself; once you’ve tuned in, all you need is the willpower to get it done and trust me, you’re not always going to feel like it but it’ll be worth it in the end. No one wants to be “just fine” our goal is to live. We just have to stop screwing ourselves out of pure happiness and wholeness. 

    Overall, this week has been an eye opener that I can’t do it all and that’s okay. I can’t be everything for everyone or be everywhere for everything and that’s perfectly fine. I’ve stretched myself thin enough to realize that. What are your thoughts on this? What ways do you keep yourself in tune? Let me know down below! If you’re interested in the videos I mention earlier, here they are: How To Stop Screwing Yourself by Mel Robbins and Oprah Winfrey on Career, Life, and Leadership (both on YouTube). Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed sharing it…

       Talk to you later,  

           Leah La’Rae 😘

Leave a comment